Four people holding a trophy

Recipients of the Chief Executive’s Close the Gap Award were the Gathang Lullaby Project. Team members Sally Knight, Angeline Landry and Jessica Trembath accept the award from MNCLHD Chief Executive Stewart Dowrick.

Innovation and excellence celebrated at annual Health awards

Jun 16, 2023

Innovation and initiatives designed to improve health outcomes for local patients were celebrated at the Mid North Coast Local Health District’s (MNCLHD) annual Quality and Innovation Awards held in Coffs Harbour last night.

The event showcased the Mid North Coast’s dedicated healthcare staff, innovative projects and devoted volunteers and  demonstrated how excellence can be achieved despite the ongoing challenges faced by the health sector.

MNCLHD Chief Executive Stewart Dowrick congratulated the award recipients and said the ceremony was an opportunity to recognise the individuals, teams and volunteers who have helped to provide high quality care to local patients.

“It was inspiring to see the thought and innovation that goes into providing community-focused health solutions that make such a difference in our local communities,” Mr Dowrick said.

“I congratulate all the recipients and finalists, and applaud their dedication, innovation and resilience in both the clinical and corporate setting.”

Several award recipients from the MNCLHD will now be nominated for the NSW Health Awards to be held later in the year.

Award recipients in each category were:

Category: Excellence in the Provision of Mental Health Services
Award recipient: My Choice – Coffs Harbour Mental Health Unit

Category: Health Research and Innovation
Award recipient: The Tele-Clinical Care (TCC) Cardiac Study

Category: Keeping People Healthy
Award recipient: The Gathang Lullaby Project

Category: Patient Safety First
Award recipient: The Red Flag Project – Bellinger River District Hospital

Category: People and Culture
Award recipient: First 2000 Days Webinar Series 2022

Category: Transforming Patient Experience
Award recipient: Getting on Track in Time – Port Macquarie

Category: Chief Executive Close the Gap Award
Award recipient: The Gathang Lullaby Project

Category: ACI Award for Innovation
Award recipient: Flying a Nurse Practitioner – MNCCI Port Macquarie

Category: Chair’s Award
Award recipient: RT Journey Enhanced – Removing Tattoos

Category: Nurse/Midwife of the Year
Award recipient: Josefa Dekker – Wauchope District Memorial Hospital

Category: Allied Health Professional of the Year
Award recipient: Robin Ashley – Coffs Harbour Health Campus

Category: Volunteer of the Year
Award recipient: Max Heslehurst – Heart Support Group, Port Macquarie

Category: Corporate/Administrative Employee of the Year
Joint recipients: Jodi Shaw (Aboriginal Health) and Basil Byrne (Finance)

Category: Collaborative Leader of the Year
Award recipient: Alison Taylor


Proudly supported by Southern Cross University        

Top of page