Two nurses sitting down

Port Macquarie Base Hospital nurses Rachael Roach and Debbie Deasey have been named finalists in the 2022 NSW Health Excellence in Nursing and Midwifery Awards.

Mid North Coast nurses recognised for excellence

Aug 05, 2022
This article was published 2 years ago.

Two Mid North Coast nurses have been named among 30 finalists nominated for the 10th annual NSW Health Excellence in Nursing and Midwifery Awards.

The finalists, Debbie Deasey and Rachael Roach, have been selected from nominations across eight categories which recognise nurses and midwives who have made a difference in clinical practice, management and leadership.

NSW Health Secretary Susan Pearce congratulated this year’s finalists.

“These awards showcase the exceptional work nurses and midwives are doing in our hospitals each and every day. I want to acknowledge the finalists for their outstanding work and thank all our staff members who continue to deliver high quality care during these challenging times,” Ms Pearce said.

Mid North Coast Local Health District Director of Nursing and Midwifery Vicki Simpson said Debbie and Rachael are highly deserving local finalists for the awards, which recognise the dedication of nurses and midwives in the NSW public health system.

“Debbie’s inspirational career path has taken her from hospital cleaning and kitchen work to being a nurse practitioner with a PhD and she displays endless energy and compassion,” Mrs Simpson said.

“Rachael has worked at Port Macquarie Base Hospital throughout her graduate year and is kind and passionate and takes the time to listen to patients and strive for excellence.”

Finalists and winners will be celebrated in an Awards ceremony, which will be livestreamed on November 24 from 2pm.

The NSW Government has announced a record 10,148 full-time equivalent staff will be recruited to hospitals and health services across NSW over four years, in the nation’s largest-ever health workforce boost, as part of the 2022-23 Budget.

The additional staff will include nurses and midwives, doctors, paramedics, pathologists and scientific staff, pharmacists and allied health professionals, as well as support and ancillary staff who will ensure the continued operations of NSW hospitals and the wider public health system.

More information on the 2022 Excellence in Nursing and Midwifery Awards is available here.

Top of page